What I Know For Sure…

What I Know For Sure…

After reading Oprah’s  book “What I Know For Sure” I decided to write a list of some of the things that I know for sure based on the catergories in my blog. (This isnt an exclusive list)


Arthritis

Having Arthritis  doesn’t define me and getting my hip replaced didn’t limit me. In fact its been the opposite and given me more life and opportunities that I would of had if I had listened to some of the doctors who said that I was “too young” for a replacement and  “would just have to get used to the pain”.

What I know for sure its that no one needs to live in pain and my advice is to chat to others in your situation, “Own” your Arthritis and get the best health care that you can afford and do everything that you can do to try and relieve that pain.

CrossFit

Ive been doing CrossFit in CrossFit Galway for over 3 years now and while it is tough,  the friendships, the community and the memories that I make in there is worth all that sweat, pain, burpees and tears. Not to mention the benefits that I get from those work outs to my body and mind are amazing.

Exercise

I have tried all types of exercise over the years, football and basketball in school, GAA in College, marathon running in my 20’s and now CrossFit and Yoga in my 30’s are the ones I am proud of . (Line-dancing, Boxercise, Zumba are on the other list!!).

So I have a good base to say that the one thing I know for sure about exercise is that no matter what type of movement it is,it is good for you and your body needs this movement. The benefits to your lungs, heart, brain and overall health out weight any embarrassment  or hesitation that you might have when you think of starting.

My advice here is to pick something that you like to do, been it CrossFit, signing up for a couch to 5k run, joining a local dancing club, whatever!

Movement is movement and your future self will thank you for it.

Healthy Eating

For some one like me who loves food, what I now for sure is that you need to have a healthy relationship with food to begin with. You need to understand that you body needs protein, carbohydrates and fats and in the right proportions to work at its best potential.It is ok to have a little of everything (even chocolate!) but just don’t over indulge.

Think of your body like a engine in a car, if you continue to put bad petrol or diesel into it, the engine will burn out, make noise and break down.  Your body is the same, you need to give it the best fuel for it to work its best.

Holistic Therapy’s

Been a holistic therapist and reflexologist for a few years now I have had many clients come to me unsure of what I can do for them. Massage and Reflexology have many physical benefits on the body. They relax and unwind the sore muscles, increase blood circulation and boosts the immune system to name but a few benefits but what I know for sure it that it also have many mental benefits too. I have yet to have a client leave me after a treatment without feeling less stressed, more relaxed, calmer breathing and with a clearer mind.

Mindfulness

‘Almost everything will work again if you unplug it for a few minutes, including you’ Anne Lamott.

In the social media enhanced world that we live it, what I know for sure its that its ok to switch it all off every now and then and just “be”.. read a book, go for a walk, be on your own, just be! It really works.

This is just a few of the things that I know for sure.  Hope you enjoy and do please leave me a comment with one of the things that “you know for sure”.

Stay holistic 🙂

 

Catherine x

Leave a Reply

