Monkeying Around..

Monkeying Around..

It all started one day last year while out playing with my nieces and nephew in the local playground. There was a standard 8 or 10 monkey bars frame and my sister called me over, laughing and said β€œI bet I can do more monkey bars that you β€œ. Me been the sister who was the most regular gym goer (of the two of us) was very confident in my response, nope sure I go to CrossFit I’ll win! πŸ™‚

She smashed it, up she jumped and off she went like a natural monkey. Me on the other hand slipped on the second bar. (blaming the equipment of course!).

 

Roll on this summer, my 10-year-old niece was very excited when I was minding her at the park and she said that she has been practising and was able to do the 8 monkeys rings. I STILL couldn’t string 3 together…What exactly are you doing in that gym of yours Auntie Catherine?!? πŸ˜‰

So when my sister sent me a Challenge video with kids and all in it…doing 10 monkey bars unbroken I knew I had to get some practice in…this was no laughing matter!!

I had no excuse really, there are about 50 bars on the rig in the gym I go to every second day. (CrossFit Galway)

My first attempt I did 11!! Yes, that more than your 10 Sister!!! πŸ˜€

 

 

But now I had the bug I wanted to do all of them unbroken.

So at the end of August I set myself a goal to have this done by Halloween.

It’s not easy on the shoulders so you can’t do it every day but I β€œtested” myself once a week to see how I was doing.

Week 1 I did – 20

Week 2 I did – 23

Week 3 I did – 25

I was finding the start was fine and I could do the first 10-15 very fast but then my arms and shoulders would get fatigued and the grip would start to slip.

But I was determined to keep up the practice.Β  I would go in and practice before my normal class and just set the phone to record and go for it. If I waited till after class my shoulders and arms would already be too tired.

Then on the 19th of September – only 20 days into my challenge I did it!

 

 

 

I couldn’t believe it! I was delighted, I just kept going and was really hoping that the video was still recording πŸ˜€πŸ˜‚.

 

It’s amazing what a bit of friendly sibling rivalry can do for your fitness levels! Thanks Maureen x

 

Watch this space for my next Fitness Challenge!

 

Stay holistic Β πŸ˜€

Catherine x

 

Leave a Reply

