Battle of the West…

Battle of the West…

‘Even the greastest was once a beginner, don’t be afraid to take the first step’Mohammad Ali

So on Saturday last, I completed in my first CrossFit Competition in my gym, CrossFit Galway‘s ‘Battle of the West’. I signed up 2 months ago, thanks to one of the girls in the gym and have written 2 blogs about it already .(see them here)

I’m absolutely delighted that I came 9th out of the 33 beginners on the day and still can’t really believe it πŸ™‚ . Here’s how the day panned out.
After an 8am registration, the workouts started at 9.15am, 6 heats for the men and then 6 heats for the women. I was going to be in the 11th heat so I had plenty of time to watch the technique of the other athletes and got some extra tips from the girls before me.


Workout 1 was above.My nerves were kicking in here at the start so I just had to focus on not tripping on the rope and just keep moving. I knew I could do these movements and this was always going to be my ‘best’ of the 3 workouts of the day so it was a case of focus solely on the judges voice and go as fast (but as smooth) as I could. The lunges were the toughest part and I have a fine bruise on my left knee to prove it but I came 2rd in my heat and overall 7th out of the all the ladies. Delighted with myself!



Workout 2 was is below and to say that I don’t like Burpees is an understatement.

Honestly I don’t know anyone who does like them but add in my limited hip mobility due to my replaced hip, this was always going to be an extra challenge.

 


This was a case of mind over matter and just keep swimming (or moving in my case!). In practice for this I have been know to lie on the floor during the Burpees saying that I can’t do anymore!!!


It’s what they call a β€œgassy” workout because you don’t remember to breathe during the Burpees.

The butterflies were awake again in my stomach when I could hear people in the crowd cheering my name. I had a little chat with myself, ‘Go as fast as I can and pull like a dog’. Sure it worked for the Irish Rowers during the week, why not here!? πŸ™‚

Honestly in the end, I don’t even remember the deadlifts, just listened to the judge counting the reps and kept moving. I came 10th overall and couldn’t believe it. That pushed me to overall 9th!! Wow!

Workout 3 was never going to my favourite event.


Running is something that I completely avoid ( consultants orders) and throw in 80 metres of bear crawls and that is my idea of torture.

But I kept telling myself that I’m doing better than I had ever thought I would and that it’s ok to stop during the bear crawls and shake out the legs and arms if I need to.( even though no one else was).

During my practice of this, I could do 20metres non stop but the quads were not liking it at all.
Β We had to crawl up and down the gym in this one also and the crowd was really getting around everyone here, cheering the athletes on. Normally I don’t like this and have been know to shout back at coaches (it’s normally my boyfriend!) but I can say something changed during this competition because I could head my name all the time and it really helped me and pushed me on further.

The bear crawls were not pretty in the end but I only stopped once, I actually talked to myself the while time. β€œI have this, I have this” Positive affirmation at its best!


Result 13th in the event…Making it overall 9th on the day.. Absolutely delighted with that!

 

Honestly I couldn’t have done it without the judges, staff and amazing community that is CrossFit Galway. There was 6 competing from our gym and it was lovely to see us all supporting and cheering each other on. I couldn’t have been any more happy for the winner Niamh if I had won myself. The work and determination was there and it really paid off on the day. Well done Champ!Β 

When I look back to August 2012 ,just before I got my hip replaced, my biggest goal was to walk again without a limp (or a crutch) . Never would I have believed that I’d be competing in my first CrossFit competition and enjoying it!

We make a good Team , me and my “new hip”..whats next on that bucket list?!?

Stay holistic πŸ™‚
Catherine x

 

Leave a Reply

