Count down to my first CrossFit ‘Battle’…

Count down to my first CrossFit ‘Battle’…

As some of you know I’m preparing for my first Crossfit ‘The Battle of the West’ competition (in 2 weeks time) and while yes I’m increasing my training in the gym by working on improving my weaknesses, my preparation for the competition isn’t all happening inside the gym.

If you ask any sports person in training for any competition or big match or race they will tell you that success or failure on the day will have a lot to do with a combination of factors.

Below is a list of some of my suggestions for successful preparation for a big sporting event.
1. Research: 

Know your sport. Talk to your coach, ask about extra work outs you can do, before or after your regular class. Look up other similar competitions and see what their work outs are and try them out. Identity with your coach your weaknesses and work out a training plan that you can follow over the next few weeks to improve these.
2. Practice, practice, practice:

CrossFit is about high intensity, constantly varied, functional movements and so for me over the last month I’ve looked at 4 different workouts each week to help me get into that frame of mind. I record my scores, my weights and times so that when I redo them I can grade myself against them. The organisers of The Battle of the West released the first workout yesterday and so I will practice this a few times and even record myself doing them to watch it back ( embarrassing I know!!) and see exactly where I can improve.

3. Food:

I’m a firm believer in that you can’t out train a bad diet and so you can do all the training you want but if you don’t have a clean balanced diet, it’s all a waste. Over the last year I’ve lost a stone by using  the MyFitnessPal app   and understanding what I eat (see blog here). It’s important to have a good relationship with food and during a competition it’s even more so, this is the fuel that you are putting into your engine to make it run better on the day.

For me I’ve upped my protein(eggs, nut butters etc.) my greens (extra veg, spinach), I’ve introduced chlorella and spirulina into my smoothies and from now until the competition I’m eliminating all breads.


I also start the day with a Platinum & Diamond protein shake which I mix into my daily berry smoothie in my NutriBullet and after class I have it again with water in a shaker as soon as I can. The benefits of this are that it aids recovery and helps replenish the system after an intense training session.

Don’t forget to also drink at least 8 glasses of water a day as this will help keep your body hydrated throughout the day.

4. Sleep: 

Personally I’m a zombie without a good nights sleep but thankfully I’ve no problem getting to sleep.


Aim for 7-9 every night and try and have a regular routine in the weeks coming up to your competition as your body will need the extra time to recover with all that extra training. Try also to eliminate technology in the bedroom so that this will encourage your mind to slow down also.

5. Rest days:

Also known as recovery days. These help rebuild and repair any damaged muscle tissue, help reduce the risk of injury, help strengthen the joints and ligaments and replenish the bodies energy reserves.


It’s very important to listen to your body and understand when it’s talking to you and needs to stop. For me, my replaced hip will let me know very clearly when I’m reaching that point and I will always stop and rest before it gets too bad. Everyone has a body part that speaks to them so identify what that is and work with it.

Rest for me is Netflix or a good book and feet up and time with family and friends.

6. Massage:

Now we are talking 🙂 There is nothing nicer than a nice long massage and particularly when your muscles are sore from training. A good massage can help reduce muscle tension, increase range of motion, relieve stress, increase and encourage blood flow in the area and help you sleep better.


The week before the competition I will be booking myself in for a massage for all of this and also to help calm my nerves. 🙂 If you can’t get a massage, make sure you use a foam roller or hand roller . Your body will thank you for it the next day, I promise.
So there you have it, some of my suggestions for preparing for a competition. For me it’s CrossFit but I hope this can be tailored to any big race, match, competition you might be preparing for.
Please do let me know if there is anything else that you do in preparation for a big event that you find works! I’d love to hear about it.

Lastly, remember on the day, it’s all about having a good experience and it’s not about anyone else. Best of luck!

Stay holistic 🙂
Catherine x

p.s Read about my other CrossFit related blogs here.

Leave a Reply

