One week out of 52!! 

One week out of 52!! 

This week was one busy week for me with my volunteering, but as always I loved it.

 

 On Tuesday I finished the Living Well With Arthritis course that I had been delivering for the past 6 weeks in the Connacht Hotel for Arthritis Ireland.


As I explained before on a previous blog,?this  is a self management course for anyone who is living with Arthritis or Fibromyalgia.
It helps to reduce the pain and reclaim your life from Arthritis by demonstrating and providing simple to use day to day tools that will help break the pain and fatigue cycle and also offers positive  tips about exercise, health eating, managing medications, pain distraction techniques and sleep.

It also provides good discussions around how to deal with difficult emotions and depression. As well as offering a good community base for the people who attend. This season we had participates from all over Galway and ages ranged from 25- 65. Its always great to see the transformation of the people over the 6 weeks as you can see their confidence grow and the realisation that their condition doesn’t define them. I really enjoy volunteering for this course as its not only about meeting some great people, for me it always helps put everything into perspective.

 

 This Living Well with Arthritis course is ran in most counties through Arthritis Ireland and can be booked on their website

www.arthritisireland.ie or ring 1890 252 846.

On Thursday then I attended a table quiz which was run by my day jobs sports and social. Every year, they run a table quiz for a different chosen charity and this year’s one was Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital in Crumlin.

Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin provides excellent healthcare to children from all over Ireland every day. It is also very close to a lot of people for many different reasons and so I knew it would be a good night. Unfortunately my team didn’t win 😢 but I  did learn loads of interesting facts, like who would of thought the Unicorn is Scotland’s National Animal..FACT! (Google it).

 


You can make a donation or fundraise for the children’s hospital by visiting the Charity’s Website at The Children’s Medical & Research Foundation. www.olchc.ie/Donations/#sthash.comyyAn2.dpuf

 

On Friday night I was back at French Vanoli where you can “Buy a Brick” for Cope Galway on their wall of inspiration.  So I donated my money, put on my thinking cap and got painting.

 As you can see I couldn’t help but immortalise my home county on this Galway wall!! 🙂
Cope Galway provide many services in Galway City and county including services for  the homeless men and women, services for women and children experiencing domestic violence, services for older people etc. They do an excellent job and are always looking for new volunteers.

You can get more information on this and Cope Galway on their website www.copegalway.ie

So that was a busy week for me and charities but it was so enjoyable Id highly recommend getting involved in a charity (which ever one is important to you) and either donate your expertise, your money or your time and I promise you, both you and the charity will feel the benefit of it

 

 Stay holistic 🙂

 

Catherine

X

Leave a Reply

