My new fitness friend..

My new fitness friend..

A few months ago I made a new ‘friend’ and over the last few months we have spent almost every day together. So I thought it was time that I introduced you to them.
‘Should himself be worried ?’ you might ask and the simple answer is not at all and if anything he is as delighted for me as I am as this ‘friend’ has successfully helped me with some nutrition issues and goals I’ve had over the last little while.
Who is this friend I speak so highly off??


It’s only ‘My fitness pal’ which is a free and easy nutrition and fitness system that helps people achieve good health. (Or so that’s what it says on its Facebook page.)
Simply put its a phone app that you download for free. To start off, you fill in some personal details, age, sex, current weight, active status and weight goal. (Select lose weight, gain weight or maintain weight) and then what you want your goal weight to be. It then simply tells you what calories you have for that day to maintain that goal and how long it will take you to reach it.


Then as the days go on you input what you have eaten into the daily diary and it will show you your remaining calories. It easily divides it into breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks and shows you exactly what you are eating. It’s amazing when you see it all written down,you will soon start to see a change in your eating habits.


While it does focus a lot on calories, to me its more that a calorie counter.

The coolest part of the app is the bar code scan at the top. This is for the food that have bar codes and all you need to do is ‘scan’ the bar code and it will tell you exactly what is in the food. For example the calories, the recommended serving size and all the nutrition facts, carbs, fats ( and types of fats), protein etc.


This information then is all compiled into a cool pie chart in the nutrition tab and you can really see how your food breaks down (if pie charts are your thing) again it clearly shows your ‘recommended macros’ for you and your lifestyle and where you are currently on that chart.
I like this as it helps himself explain to me the importance of macros and the need for more protein when I’m training in the gym. (Pre and post work out snacks etc).. That’s an exciting conversation!! πŸ™‚ lol


On that it also has a section for exercise so again I select which exercise I did that day and for how long and it was add this into my calories (it’s like plus calories at the end if the day) . πŸ™‚
So does it work and what goals have I achieved?
Firstly I use it mainly doing the week. That’s when I do my training and have my good routine of food. The weekends not so much and over Christmas I took a break. But over the past 4 months, I have steadily lost over 10 pounds (over 5kg) and those inches lost are mainly in my tummy. πŸ™‚ hello new dress size!!!
I don’t see ‘my fitness pal’ as a diet though as anyone that knows me knows that I love my chocolate and this thankfully I still eat. I use eat it in moderation. It’s more a lifestyle app that helps me make positive and more nutritional food decisions.
For anyone that is serious about understanding a bit more about their nutrition and what they are putting into their bodies and maybe managing their weight a bit more I can’t recommend this app this enough.


Have a go and let me know how you get on πŸ™‚
Stay holistic
Catherine x

Sent from my iPad

One thought on “My new fitness friend..

Leave a Reply

