What are you giving up for Lent?!?!

What are you giving up for Lent?!?!

I’m not overly religious and I would see myself as more of a Christian than a devout catholic. In that I believe that this journey of life is to be kind and nice to yourself and others and not to harm or hurt anyone along the way. If you can, help each other and if you can’t, then atleast do no harm.
However having been brought up by the catholic teachings at school it’s sometimes hard not to default back to their rituals and calendar events. 

Today is Ash Wednesday, the start of ‘lent’, 40 days and 40 nights where you are meant to give up something as a penance for your sins ( you can also take something new on to if you wish) . 

Now I would like to point out here that I could never do this as a child. Where in out house you had no choice but to give up sweets and chocolate. I got to about day 4 and then just caved in. Compared to my darling sister who not only managed it but also kept all her chocolates in a box in our shared room just to torment me more!!lol 

  

But this year I’ve decided to give Lent a go. Over the last few months I’ve noticed that my language or should I say my bad language has increased a lot and for no particular reason. So I’m going to ‘give up swearing for Lent.πŸ™€πŸ™€πŸ™€

I’d like it noted that I don’t mind bad language . That I’m not particularly offended by it but as I spend a lot of time talking to my clients either over the phone (office job) or over my massage bed (the holistic toolkit) I don’t think it’s very professional to drop f’s and s’s all over the place. 

  
I was never a huge swearer at all and my friends would always say that if they heard me swear they were shocked and knew either something was very wrong or I was very annoyed. Some would even tell me to stop and say that it didn’t suit me. 
However I can’t say the same for when I’m in my Crossfit gym. There I just let it rip. I think it’s the passionate person in me. There, I’m lifting weights, prepping myself for the barbell and amongst all that sweat and hormones, I think it helps get that blood pumping faster and those weights lifted quicker. I’m even 100% sure thst you could set your watch on me…. 4 minutes into a work out and I’m swearing at the bar, the wallball or the kettle bell to f-off!!

  
Now don’t get me wrong most of us are shouting at that bar and I’m not out of place at all but if a non Crossfit person came in at that stage, there wouldnt know where to look. 

I’d also like to point out that it’s only inanimate objects I swear at. Not the coaches or other cross fitters there. (Im not that bad!!) πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

It was only when we were all out one night and talking about the weird sounds and noises that we make during a class that I admitted that I don’t really swear ‘outside the gym’ and their shocked faces said it all. I realised I needed to tone it down. I don’t want these people thinking that I’m a two worded bad mouthed sailor. πŸ˜₯

So today seems like as good a day as any other to start this challenge. I have two clear weeks before the Crossfit Open starts which gives me plenty of days to practice my ‘clean’ language in the gym and I also have a ‘swear jar’ set up at home and will put €1 in for every swear word that slips out. And let’s hope 40 days are enough for me. πŸ™‚

  
Wish me luck!!
Stay holistic πŸ™‚
Catherine x 

Leave a Reply

