Restoration Weekend

Restoration Weekend

Returning to ‘normal’ this week was always going to be busy for me, back to the 9-5.30pm day job brought with it early mornings and long busy days. Then throw in driving to and from work in the dark and 40 minute traffic jams, caught in numerous rain showers, windy weather walking from the car to the office, fights with umbrellas and cold rain soaked hats and gloves , anyone would be tired .. Right? Add in a return back to the regular Crossfit classes (and my self inflicted extra pull up practice),a new Yogalates session and not to mention a couple of massage clients, by yesterday evening my internal battery was definitely blinking ‘warning low battery’.

  

I promised myself some restoration time this weekend. This is a non specific time over the weekend that involves : my bed, a good book, some Netflix,some good food , some detox tea , some PJ’s and fluffy socks (the last 2 are optional but I love been cosy) and an open fire (obviously not all at the same time!!) πŸ˜‰

  

Restoration is about switching off from the world for a little while and just letting your body restore itself, for some people it’s sleeping in, others it’s a nice relaxing bath with Epsom salts and bubbles. This weekend for me it’s about going to bed early and falling asleep with my book on my face, and then getting up and lazing about in my pj’s and socks. And having no place to be at any particular time. My hair is a mess, I have no make up on and I binged on Netflix (Gossip Girl for me but this can be what ever mind numbing programme that takes your fancy). It’s about relaxing and letting your battery recharge for the next week/month ahead. 
Yes there are plenty of things I could be doing with my time which may seem more productive but I know that this is what my busy mind and active body needs to off set the busy week and all those things will still be there tomorrow or Monday but for now this is some ‘me time’.

  
Everyone needs to switch off from time to time and especially as we have such busy life’s it is really important to schedule this into your diary.. Maybe even once a month mark an evening or a morning (or even an hour) where you don’t have to be any where and just do something for you.. Your mind and body will thank you for it, I promise..:)
Stay holistic πŸ™‚
Catherine x 
Sent from my iPad

One thought on “Restoration Weekend

Leave a Reply

