Clean and Lean Granola

Clean and Lean Granola

Anyone that knows me well knows that I’m no Jamie Oliver in the kitchen and up until recently I didn’t own any cook books (bar ‘1001 cupcakes and cookies recipes) but one of my New Years resolutions this year was to spend more time learning how to cook healthier and reduce my processed food intake. I even went as far as getting Derval O Rourke and Loraine Pascals healthy eating books and getting a Nutri Ninja processor. (Which really does make a lot of difference when it comes to easy on the go food) 🙂
I’ve been experimenting with these books and other recipes in magazines and I’ve had some success and not so success stories but I’m slowly getting better (my poor boyfriend would be delighted to hear!!)

So when one of the ladies in a course I recently delivered with Arthritis Ireland (more on that in future blogs) offered me her recipe for Granola. I was a little hesitate as I thought it would be beyond my skills. However I was pleasantly surprised that it only involved 5 ingredients.(all of which I surprisingly  had in my cupboard).

-200g of organic porridge meal

-200g of pecans,

-100g of walnuts,(or any other nut) -100g of desiccated coconut

-1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon.

She calls it her ‘Clean and Lean Granola and this weekend I had a chance to put the recipe to work.

First preheat the oven to 180 degrees/350/gas mark 4.

Then the easy bit, weight out the ingredients on my new digital weighting scales and mix these with your hands in a large bowl until they are all well mixed up. (Break and crush the pecans as you go)


After afew minutes of mixing empty the mixture onto a large baking tray and even it out.

Place this is the oven for about 20 minutes (or until brown) and toss it occasionally.


Once you are happy will this toasted look. Remove from the oven and let it cool down before storing it in an airtight container.


This can then be used for breakfast for the next few days. Or if your house is anything like mine, those late evening snacks when you just want to curl up on the couch in front of the fire. (I’m writing this with the fire on and the rain smashing against the window) 😦

Ps.I use almond milk with mine but any milk or yoghurt would do.

So that’s it .. A nice easy healthy granola and believe me if I can make it.. Anyone can.. Why not give it a go yourself!

Stay holistic 🙂

Catherine x

Leave a Reply

