Yogalates

Yogalates

This is just a quick blog about a new class that I started recently and I would highly recommend it to others.


Back in August I saw a new 5 week class called Yogalates advertised in French/Vanoli. (My gym in Oranmore). I had heard a few positive things about this type of class on other blogs online and I was eager to see for myself. However as I was going on holidays for the first 2weeks I was disappointed that i wouldn’t Β be available to sign up. So back in October when a new 5 week course started I was the first one to put my name down.

But what is Yogalates you may ask… According to any online engine search.. ‘It was developed in 1977 by fitness instructor Jonathan Urla and is a fitness routine that combines Pilates exercises with the postures and breathing techniques of yoga’..

It is also described as a meeting place of east and west because it effectively merges the ancient practice of Yoga from the east with the core stabilizing, posture enhancing dynamics of Pilates from the west.

However I believe it’s much more than that for me. Autumn is always a busy time of the year for me,my office job can be ramping up the work to achieve any end of year targets, I’m generally delivering self management courses with Arthritis Ireland (which is one day a week) and on top of keeping up with my own massage/reflexology clients I ALWAYS and I mean ALWAYS get a ‘changing of the seasons’ cold…so I promised myself this autumn I would try to preempt this ‘crazy season’ and give myself some headspace too.

It’s been years since I was in a Pilates studio (pre new hip I did injury Pilates with my physio and I’ve never tried yoga) and I was a little nervous as I didn’t really know the instructor -Karen and I wanted to chat to her before class to explain my situation. I need not have worried though she was so welcoming and understanding and explained to me that Yogalates is for all abilities and that I can go as gently as I wanted to and to stop if I was feeling any pain. She said that she recognised me from Crossfit (the same building and was amazed that I could do all of that with my new hip and confidently said that Yogalates won’t be a problem for me).

The room itself was so inviting with it low lighting, gentle music and yoga mats. I already know I would like it. We started off with some gentle deep breaths and then started the movements.

Yogalates really focuses on flexibility, on muscle toning and on breathing. I always find when I’m rushing and racing around in the outside world I’m thinking about 100 different things at once but when I’m focusing on my breathing I can really be in the moment and this hour at Yogalates really helps me do that. I found as the weeks went on, i was really looking forward to my hour with Karen and her class. I’ve done 4 classes now and I can already feel that this compliments my Crossfit work as I’m beginning to feel a little more flexible but more importantly I feel calm and relaxed after each Yogalates class and I have a wonderful sleep and therefore feel so much more focused and energised for the rest of my jobs thoughtful the week.


Definately something I will continue practising and highly recommend for one and all.
Stay holistic πŸ™‚

Catherine x

Leave a Reply

