The start of a new adventure!

The start of a new adventure!

Hi everyone and welcome to my very first Blog!!

Anyone that knows me knows that my main career has been in Insurance sales and it’s only in the last 3 years or so that I’ve had the opportunity to review this path.  

  
People ask me how and why I decided to set up The Holistic Toolkit and as today marks an important ‘life changing anniversary’,I’ve decided to share the story today.

On the 23rd of August 2012, I got my right hip fully replaced (official name total hip arthroplasty) . This wasn’t an easy decision to make but over the previous 3 years, I was in a lot of pain and was finally diagnosed after a hip scope with Osteoarthritis in 2010. I was 29 and the consultant in the Santry Sports clinic told me that he would  replace it ‘at some point’ but that he didn’t want to see me at least another 10 years.

What was I to do??

At this stage I was very new to the Arthritis world and I didn’t know anyone who had it (I have since become part of the wonderful world of Arthritis Ireland and the community including the local Galway branch committee but more about that later).

  
I did research about arthritis, pain relief, tried different foods and changed my exercise routine (I used to be a avid runner and had to give it up under doctors orders). Time and time again alternative therapies would appear.

It was Halloween 2011 after I had a very bad flare up that things really deteriorated, the pain in my hip was spreading to my knees and my lower back. It was affecting my sleep, my moods, my social life and my day job and I was rarely seen without my ‘red’ crutch.  

   

It was a vicious pain cycle that I couldn’t fully break. My physio became my best friend and I tried her adapted Pilates and recommended water exercises which helped a lot. The relief that i got from the hot sauna and jacuzzi was second to none.

Then one day I booked a massage for some pampering and me time. Just to spoil myself really, I didn’t really expect anything else. The massage therapist was lovely. I’ll never forget her smiley face and how she helped me get up on to the massage bed. She listened to me about not really sleeping because of the pain and immediately put me at ease and got me to lie down and close my eyes and try to relax. The treatment was about 50 minutes long and she worked on all my bodies systems, but paid particular attention to the muscular and skeletal  system from my neck,back, hips and knees and my nervous system for my nerves that was standing on edge for the pain and inflammation.

This day was the day my body just couldn’t hold it in any longer and from the gentle movements and touch from the therapists I could physical feel the pain leave my body, I even started crying and those were tears of relief not pain I can tell you now.

  
That was definitely my light bulb moment… πŸ™‚

Not long after that I did get a second opinion from a wonderful surgeon in Galway and got my hip fully replaced. (I’ll tell you that story another day). While I was recovering with family i saw an advertisement for Holistic Massage courses- holistic means the whole person, mind body and soul and I just knew I needed to do that course and try and give that relief to other people.

  
So there began my Holistic journey! I have since graduated in Reflexology and Indian Head Massage and I am a Living Well leader for Arthritis Ireland and of course set up The Holistic Toolkit this year.

  
 I would like to think my treatments can help people with their pain what ever it’s cause,  for example arthritis, sports related, migraines, stress, muscular, digestive, reproductive etc. 

Pain is pain and no one needs to suffer

“Relief is a wonderful emotion, highly underrated. In fact, I prefer it to elation or joy. Relief lets the air out of the tire of pain’ – Adriana Trigiani

So that’s all for now folks… Thanks for reading and please contact me on my Facebook page-‘the holistic toolkit’ if you have any questions.

Stay Holistic!! πŸ™‚

Catherine x

2 thoughts on “The start of a new adventure!

  1. Catherine, you have done amazingly well. Arthritis is a complicated illness with many people searching for answers and hopefully each day we are coming closer to answers. But anything that one can do to ease pain is worthwhile. And you are certainly helping in that area. Congratulations to you on the success of you new business. I think of you now whenever I see the word Holistic.
    Mary

    Like

Leave a Reply

